What are the 8 stages of Erikson’s theory?

Summary of Erikson’s stages

Stage Conflict Age Desired outcome
1 Trust vs. mistrust Birth to 12–18 months A sense of trust and security
2 Autonomy vs. shame & doubt 18 months to 3 years Feelings of independence lead to belief in yourself and your abilities
3 Initiative vs. guilt 3 to 5 years Self-confidence; the ability to take the initiative and make decisions 
4 Industry vs. inferiority 5 to 12 years Feelings of pride and accomplishment
5 Identity vs. confusion 12 to 18 years A strong sense of identity; a clear picture of your future
6 Intimacy vs. isolation 18 to 40 years Safe relationships filled with commitment and love
7 Generativity vs. stagnation 40 to 65 years The desire to give to family and community, and to succeed at work 
8 Integrity vs. despair Over 65 years Pride in what you’ve achieved leads to feelings of satisfaction

Author: Linda Turner

Coaching and Therapy Currently studying Psychotherapy , Cognitive psychology, Hypnotherapy. Qualified NLP, EMDR and CBT therapist. REIKI Master. I believe in truth, honesty and integrity! ≧◔◡◔≦

Leave a Reply, All comments will be moderated - Many thanks for your contribution

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: