Q & A – Kübler-Ross’s Five Stages of Grief

Kübler-Ross’s Five Stages of Grief is a model that describes the emotional process that many people go through when dealing with grief and loss. The model was developed by Swiss-American psychiatrist Elisabeth Kübler-Ross in her 1969 book “On Death and Dying.” The stages are:

  1. Denial: The first stage involves a refusal to accept the reality of the loss. This can manifest as shock, numbness, disbelief, or a sense of unreality.
  2. Anger: As the reality of the loss sets in, individuals may experience intense emotions such as anger, frustration, and resentment. This anger can be directed at oneself, others, or even the deceased.
  3. Bargaining: In this stage, individuals may try to negotiate with a higher power or try to make deals to undo the loss. They may also attempt to make sense of the loss by trying to understand the reasons behind it.
  4. Depression: This stage involves a sense of sadness, loneliness, and despair as individuals begin to come to terms with the reality of the loss. They may withdraw from others, experience difficulty sleeping or eating, and lose interest in activities they once enjoyed.
  5. Acceptance: The final stage involves a sense of peace and acceptance of the loss. This does not mean that individuals no longer feel sadness or pain, but rather that they have reached a place of understanding and have integrated the loss into their lives.

It’s important to note that not everyone will experience these stages in the same order, and some people may not experience all of them at all. Additionally, the stages are not meant to be a rigid framework, but rather a general guide to help individuals understand and cope with their grief.

©Linda Turner http://parentalalienationpas.com 2023


Author: Linda Turner

Coaching and Therapy Currently studying Psychotherapy , Cognitive psychology, Hypnotherapy. Qualified NLP, EMDR and CBT therapist. REIKI Master. I believe in truth, honesty and integrity! ≧◔◡◔≦

Leave a Reply, All comments will be moderated - Many thanks for your contribution

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: